Skip to content

26 Things Non-Ron Paul Voters Are Basically Saying: A Response

February 16, 2012

It is interesting some of the things that non-Ron Paul supporting conservatives are saying.  Inconsistencies abound in the philosophy, principles, beliefs, and expected outcomes of non-Ron Paul supporting conservatives.  It is understandable that such obvious inconsistencies can lead a listener to anger, but the point of political education and debate is not to be right—for there is no absolute right or wrong in politics—the point is to enlighten, educate, debate, and learn—for we can never know everything about anything.

These following 26 statements are things that non-Ron Paul supporting conservatives are saying without orally speaking them.  Granted, not all non-Ron Paul supporting conservatives say all 26 things, but they at least say some of them.  The discussions that have arisen so far between the Republican presidential candidates have led to healthy discussions among Americans of all political philosophies.  In fact, I am glad to see the changes that Ron Paul and his supporters have already brought to political discussions in America.  It is fantastic that people are actually reading economic, political, and legal books, and discussing and questioning the role of government in terms that have been out of the public eye for decades.  Now is a great time to capitalize on the eagerness of Americans to learn and discuss political issues, but it is also a time of great sensitivity.

The following article made up of 26 statements was written in response to an article by Dr. Tom Woods titled “26 Things Non-Ron Paul Voters are Basically Saying.”  What the original article lacks in substance, it definitely makes up for in spirit.  The original article, though it is written in a manner and style similar to that of a drunkard texting on a cellphone, brings up a good point: conservatives are saying what they believe the government should be without truly listening to what the “conservative” Republican presidential candidates are saying they believe the government should be (the “conservative” Republican presidential candidates referred to in this article are not limited to those still in the race, but all candidates that have been supported at one time or another since the beginning of the race).  It is assumed that Dr. Tom Woods wrote his article to highlight some of the inconsistencies that arise from conservative beliefs when compared to the beliefs, statements, and actions of “conservative” Republican presidential candidates.  Some actions, though they may be well-intended, can actually drive a wedge further between the parties they are intended to join.  The following article, then, is an interpretation of what Dr. Tom Woods most likely meant to express in his article which can be found at this link: http://www.tomwoods.com/blog/26-things-non-paul-voters-are-basically-saying/.

1.  It is my opinion that federal taxes are too high.  I do not like to pay extensive federal taxes to support an out-of-control federal government.  I do not think the government can spend my money better than I can.  I believe that having more money to spend how I choose will benefit me, my family, and the economy.  Therefore, I will support a candidate that favors tax structures similar to those in existence today.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he favors a 0% federal income tax, which is defined by the Constitution.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he favors eliminating taxes on capital gains, dividends, estates, giving, and personal savings.   I will not support Ron Paul even though my tax burden would be significantly reduced if he were president, which would be equal to an immediate raise.

2.  I do not think the government should be able to label me as a terrorist, search and seize my private belongings without probable cause, monitor my political, religious, and social interactions, monitor my private conversations, pull me out of my home, arrest me, hold me without providing charges, deny me the right to a lawyer, jail me indefinitely without trial, or try me in military court.  Therefore, I will support candidates that approve of these actions through their support of the NDAA and PATRIOT Acts as they are written.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has vehemently opposed both of these Acts as unconstitutional and has written legislation to remove all unconstitutional provisions from these Acts.

3.  I do not like dishonest inconsistent flip-floppers.  Therefore, I will only support a candidate that is either dishonest or inconsistent in their stated beliefs and political stances.  I will support a candidate that changes their stance to fit the situation.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has held consistent views and has had a consistent voting record for over 30 years.

4.  I support the troops.  It is my opinion that military troops/personnel/soldiers/armed service members sacrifice for this country and should be respected and supported.  Therefore, I will support a candidate that military service members do not support.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he receives more military contributions than all of the other candidates combined.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he served actively in the military and did not shirk his call of duty.

5.  I believe that independent voters will determine the outcome of the 2012 presidential election.  I want a candidate that polls well with independent voters and polls well against Obama.  Therefore, I will only support candidates that perform poorly or decent with independent voters.  I will not support Ron Paul who polls very well with independent voters and even garners support from democratic voters.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he scores better against Obama than any other candidate.

6.  I think the issue of illegal immigration needs to be dealt with properly.  I do not think that illegal immigrants should receive beneficial treatment from the American government through handouts, incentives, amnesty, and citizenship rights through birth.  Therefore, I will support candidates that support amnesty, hire illegal immigrants, approve of handouts and incentives, and flip-flop on their immigration stances.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has put forth a plan to deal with illegal immigration through physically securing the borders, enforcing visa rules, cutting off welfare for illegals, ending the birthright citizenship, and not allowing amnesty for illegals.

7. I think it is more important to educate the children of this country than to house nonviolent criminals.  I think that the prison system does not adequately rehabilitate or reform criminals, and it most likely makes prisoners worse off than before they entered.  I do not think that paying upwards of $50,000 a year to house a criminal is acceptable when an average of $9,000 a year is spent to educate a child.  Therefore, I will support candidates that support the current methods of fighting crime and incarcerating non-violent criminals for drug infractions.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has been an outspoken critic of drug wars that incarcerate millions of nonviolent criminals, waste billions of dollars, feed violence, and run America’s immigration policy.

8.  I want a candidate that understands the economy.  Fixing the broken economy is the main priority and the proper candidate needs to understand the way the economy works and, preferably, have real world private business experience.  Therefore, I will support candidates that promoted bailouts, stated the economy was fine during the bubbles leading up to the 2007-2008 meltdown, and currently promote similar economic policies for the future.  I will support candidates that have private business experience as lobbyists, vulture capitalists, real-estate moguls, reality TV show hosts, and historians for zombie organizations.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he is considered an expert on economic matters and has written several books on the subject.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he warned of the 2007-2008 meltdown as early as 2001.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has promoted the same economic policies for over 30 years that warned of dangerous bubbles.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he also has private business experience as a doctor, and did not accept federal payment for patients who could not afford to pay and simply treated them for free.

9.  I believe that America’s national debt is enormous and the country is going broke.  I believe it will be hard for America to even pay the bills in the next few years.  I believe that America should not print money, borrow money, or raise taxes for any unnecessary reason.  Therefore, I will support candidates that promote war and military expansionism, even though these practices will require printing money, borrowing money, or taxing (or, most likely, a combination of the three).  I will support candidates that promote big government and big spending and approve raising the debt limit.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he understands that our country is broke and cannot spend more money, and is trying to save money by only going to war when absolutely necessary (as defined by the Constitution) and by shutting down unneeded American military bases around the world.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he preaches financial responsibility by living within our means and paying down our debts and wants to return to the gold standard.

10.  I think returning to the rule of law is important, and that the Constitution should once again be used as the law in America.  I think that all three branches of the federal government have disregarded the Constitution as the document that guides the decisions made in this country.  Therefore, I will support candidates that have no real desire to follow the Constitution and think that it is acceptable to act outside of or even against the Constitution.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he is referred to as a Constitutionalist by members of the Republican Party, is a renowned Constitution scholar, has written books about returning to the Constitution and the rule of law, votes against any laws that are unconstitutional (even popular laws), and has recommended returning to the Constitution for decades.

11.  I do not like the power of the media.  I will not allow my opinions, stances, beliefs, or positions be determined by the media.  I do my own research and reach my own conclusions.  Therefore, I will only support candidates that the media supports.  I will not support Ron Paul even though the media has obvious disdain for him and tells me not to support him.

12.  I do not like intergovernmental and international organizations such as NATO and the UN.  I do not think that America should participate in these organizations or take orders from them.  Therefore, I will support candidates that approve of America’s participation in intergovernmental and international organizations and will take orders from these organizations.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he wants to leave these organizations and let the Constitution of the United States guide all of America’s international policy decisions and actions.

13.  I believe that lobbyists and special interests have entirely too much influence on the American political system.  I do not like politicians who cave to the support of special interest groups or lobbyists.  Therefore, I will support candidates that actually worked as lobbyists and Washington insiders themselves and have known contact with special interest groups.  I will not support Ron Paul even though special interest groups and lobbyists do not even bother trying to persuade him or buy him out.

14.  I do not want the government to be involved in health care.  I will not support a candidate that is for Obamacare, mandatory health insurance, or single-payer plans.  Therefore, I will support candidates that promote greater government involvement in health care, single-payer plans, and even create mandatory healthcare plans at the state level.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he wants the government out of healthcare.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he practiced medicine as a doctor and has first-hand knowledge and experience with the healthcare system.  I will not support Ron Paul even though as a doctor he treated patients for free who could not pay and would not accept government payments for services.

15.  I believe that Social Security is an unconstitutional fraudulent Ponzi scheme that is unlawfully forced upon Americans and will go broke soon.  I do not believe that I will receive all of the Social Security money that I am due.  I do not want my children or grandchildren to be forced to pay into Social Security, since it is all but guaranteed they will not get any of their money back.  Therefore, I will support candidates that want to, more or less, leave the Social Security system alone.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he will allow young people to get out of the Social Security program and eventually abolish it.

16.  I do not like abortion.  Therefore, I will support candidates that flip-flop on abortion based on their audience or only oppose abortion at the theoretical level.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he wants to end abortions in America by the only realistic ways: return the issue of abortion from the federal government to the states, or amend the Constitution (through the Sanctity of Life Amendment he introduced).  I will not support Ron Paul even though he wants to cut funding for abortions and deregulate the adopting system.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has direct experience in baby-delivering and has personally delivered over 4,000 babies without performing a single abortion.

17.  I believe in the separation of powers and the checks and balances systems.  I believe the separation of powers and checks and balances systems are important to keep the power of government branches limited and keep any one branch from obtaining too much power.  Therefore, I will support candidates that would remove judges that they disagree with.  I realize that this is a blatant disregard for the separation of powers and checks and balances systems (and the Constitution) and that monarchs and dictators use measures such as these to gain more power for themselves.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he supports the separation of powers and checks and balances systems by allowing judges he does not agree with to keep their seats.

18.  I do not like the Federal Reserve.  I believe that the Federal Reserve is an unconstitutional, undemocratic, and illegal unofficial branch of government that operates outside of government oversight yet has no obligation to the voting public, is a private banking cartel that is owned and operated by big Wall Street banks (and even admits it), is a perpetual debt-creating machine, and is hopelessly incompetent.  I believe the Federal Reserve should not be able to disintegrate savings through continually debasing and devaluing the American dollar, bail out zombie corporations that suck the lifeblood out of taxpaying citizens, and operate in private locked boardrooms out of the public eye.  Therefore, I will support candidates who make passive statements about the power of the Federal Reserve and have no real intentions of shutting it down or auditing it.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has promoted removing, or at least auditing, the Federal Reserve for decades and has produced legislation to do so.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he predicted the housing bubble and recession for years, while the Federal Reserve claimed neither would happen all the way up to 2008.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he wants to strengthen the value of the dollar and my savings through stabilizing the currency and limiting the power of the government to borrow or print money.

19.  I do not want a candidate that promoted or benefited from the housing bubble.  Therefore, I will support candidates that worked as lobbyists or historians for Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae, or made millions by investing in them.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has been an outspoken critic of Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae for years and even warned of the housing bubble years in advance.

20.  I believe that America is a sovereign country and should be able to make choices without the input or approval of other nations.  I also believe other countries have the right to make their own choices without intervention or approval by the American federal government.  I do not believe that America should act as the worldwide police force.  Therefore, I will support candidates that approve threatening sovereign countries with war or sanctions if they do not make choices that America approves of.  I will support candidates that think America should be the world’s police force.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he respects the sovereignty rights of other countries and wants them to make their own choices.  I will not support Ron Paul even though his foreign policy approach is similar to that of the Founding Fathers with America being a neutral party.

21.  I will not support a candidate that cannot spur enthusiasm with their followers.  I want a candidate with a solid vision for the country based on traditional solid ideals, and one that followers can rally behind.  Therefore, I will support candidates that have unenthusiastic and inconsistent followers.  I will not support Ron Paul even though his followers are willing to walk 14 miles uphill in the snow barefoot to vote in unofficial straw polls.

22.  I do not like candidates that are power hungry.  I do not want the president or the executive branch of the federal government to become larger or more powerful than they already are.  Therefore, I will support candidates that make only unspecific vague comments about reducing the size of the federal government with no real means or intention of doing so.  I will support these candidates even though they agree with increasing the president’s power beyond what is mentioned in the Constitution.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has put forward plans to eliminate entire departments of the federal government and drastically reduce the size of others.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he will reduce the power of the presidency if he is elected.

23.  I am appalled by congressional insider trading.  I will not support a candidate that has had any shady dealings with insider information or who has benefited from the downfall of the American economy.  Therefore, I will support candidates that made millions by investing Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae or working for them as a historian/lobbyist.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he does not partake in Congressional insider trading.

24.  I do not like sending money that was earned in America to foreign nations in the form of international aid or bailouts.  Therefore, I will support candidates that will continue sending money earned in America to other countries.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he wants to get rid of all international aid and does not support bailing out other countries for their irresponsible decisions.

25.  I want a candidate that has foreign policy experience.  Therefore, I will support candidates whose foreign policy experience equates to wiring money to international bank accounts, conducting multimillion dollar deals with multinational corporations, or viewing other countries from their house and greeting international travelers at the airport.  I will not support Ron Paul even though he has actual first-hand foreign policy experience by being a member of Congress for decades, writing books on the foreign policy, and fighting in overseas wars.  I will not support Ron Paul even though diplomats from other countries promote his international policy as well as leaders in the American intelligence communities.

26.  I am suspicious of a candidate’s main donators.  I understand that elected officials must pay back those that helped them get into office.  I do not trust big Wall Street banks, unions, or large corporations that benefit from generous government contracts.  Therefore, I will support candidates whose main campaign contributions come from big banks, unions, or large corporations that benefit from generous government contracts.  I will not support Ron Paul even though his main campaign contributions are from members of the military and small individual donations from working-class Americans.

– Fen

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

